RFU agrees crisp deal for new women’s club competition

Tyrrells to title sponsor women’s rugby union league for three years.

RFU agrees crisp deal for new women’s club competition

The Rugby Football Union (RFU) has announced that potato crisp brand Tyrrells will be the title sponsor of the governing body’s new women’s club rugby union competition.

The three-year partnership means that the league will officially be named Tyrrells Premier 15s until the end of the 2019/20 season.

Additionally, the deal makes Tyrrells the official crisps of England rugby. The company will benefit from a range of partnership rights, including becoming the exclusive supplier to Twickenham Stadium, home of England’s national rugby union team. 

Nigel Melville, the RFU’s director of professional rugby, said: “The Tyrrells Premier 15s competition is an important step forward for women's rugby to strengthen the foundations of the women's game as it continues to grow in popularity.

“By investing at domestic level we can build a sustainable model to support the growth of the game at elite level. The competition will crucially expand the playing pool of players available for international selection which will enable us to reach our long-term objective of running dual professionalised 15s and sevens programmes and allow us to compete on all fronts at the highest level.”

Adam Draper, marketing director for the European arm of Amplify Snack Brands, the group which owns Tyrrells, added: “We are really proud that Tyrrells is now league sponsor of the inaugural elite women's rugby competition, Tyrrells Premier 15s, and the official crisps of England rugby.

“This partnership is a union of two much loved and iconic English brands and we look forward to delighting our consumers by bringing this partnership to life on-pack and in our brand communications over the next three years.”

Tyrrells Premier 15s will kick off on 16th September, with ten teams competing to take home the inaugural title. The competition will operate in a league format, with the top four teams progressing to semi-finals played over two legs, culminating in a final on the 29th April.