Republic Bank renews with Caribbean Premier League

Local financial organisation continues as cricket tournament's official bank.

Republic Bank renews with Caribbean Premier League

Republic Bank Limited (RBL) has renewed its sponsorship of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) for a further three years.  

The Trinidad and Tobago-based financial service provider will continue to be the official bank of the franchise-based domestic Twenty20 cricket tournament, which was established by the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) in 2013.

RBL has been a sponsor of the CPL for the previous two seasons. The financial terms of the new agreement, which runs until the end of the 2020 campaign, have not been revealed.  

“It is my great pleasure to welcome Republic Bank as one of Hero CPL’s major partners for the next three years,” said Damien O’Donohoe, chief executive officer of the CPL. “Their vision of an event that unites and inspires the region is a vision that we also share. 

Nigel Baptiste, managing director of RBL, added: “This partnership has given us the opportunity to not only augment our focus on building successful societies, both locally and regionally, but to also help provide the economic and environmental benefits of tourism – a sector that is critical to the development of many of our Caribbean countries.”

The 2016 CPL was won by Jamaica Tallawahans, who beat the Guyana Amazon Warriors by nine wickets.