Qantas commits to Australian cricket team for the Ashes

Airline renews shirt sponsorship deal with Cricket Australia for 2017/18.

Qantas commits to Australian cricket team for the Ashes

Cricket Australia (CA) has renewed its shirt sponsorship deal with Qantas for a further year.

In a deal announced on Thursday, the national airline’s logo will continue to adorn the upper right chest and sleeve of the Australian men’s cricket team’s playing tops for the 2017/18 season.

The agreement incorporates the upcoming Ashes series against England, and marks the first time that a commercial partner will have branding rights across the shirts of all three formats of men’s international cricket in Australia.

Qantas first became the team’s shirt partner ahead of the 2016/17 season, and the extension deepens the company’s seven-year association with CA, which already includes the naming rights for all overseas men’s tours and its status as the governing body’s preferred airline.

The deal is the latest in a string of partnerships announced by CA this week, including a new three-year contract with Mastercard Australia and a six-year Indian broadcast agreement with Sony Pictures Network.

“We are thrilled to have Qantas coming on board as the shirt partner for the Australian men’s cricket team,” said Ben Amarfio, Cricket Australia’s general manager of broadcasting, digital media and commercial. “To have an iconic Australian brand on our men’s playing shirts in an Ashes summer is a great fit, and we are looking forward to working with Qantas throughout the summer.

“The Australian cricket team playing shirt is highly visible throughout the summer and as such is a premium asset for brands looking to appeal to a broad consumer base.”

Olivia Wirth, chief customer officer for Qantas, added: “As the national carrier, we are thrilled to be extending our support of these great Australian sportspeople on the world stage. Putting that jersey on brings a sense of pride to players and fans and we’re proud to be part of that.”

The 2017/18 Ashes will be the 70th edition of the showpiece series, with five Tests scheduled to take place between 23rd November 2017 and 8th January 2018.