Facebook and Republic Bank join the Caribbean Premier League

West Indian cricket league announces two more last-minute commercial deals.

Facebook and Republic Bank join the Caribbean Premier League

As its 2016 tournament gets underway, cricket’s Caribbean Premier League (CPL) has secured late agreements with Facebook Live and Republic Bank.

Facebook Live, the live streaming video channel of global social network Facebook, will carry all 34 matches around the world. The deal is the first of its kind for any global cricket tournament. Facebook’s official live streaming partner Grabyo will provide production support for the coverage.

“We are delighted to announce how we’re using Facebook Live, which we believe has the potential to change the face of cricket broadcasting and enhance the CPL’s ever-increasing international audience,” said Pete Russell, the CPL chief operating officer. “In 2015 the CPL’s global viewership exceeded 93 million and we now have the platform to boost our viewership even further for the forthcoming tournament. 

“The CPL will make television history and in doing so extend our reach to both traditional and non-traditional cricket followers across the world. We are hugely excited about this development and look forward to engaging more followers internationally. I want to thank Grabyo and CPL’s production partner, IMG for their combined efforts, hard work and creativity in making this broadcasting first a reality.”

The league, which has been busy in recent weeks confirming sponsors and regional broadcast deals, has also announced Republic Bank as its official banking partner for the 2016 competition.

Damien O’Donohoe, the chief executive officer of the CPL, said of the new partnership: “It is my absolute pleasure to welcome Republic Bank as official bank of the Hero CPL for 2016. We deeply appreciate their heartfelt words regarding CPL’s significance and role in the region, and it is great to see another ‘home-grown’ powerhouse as part of the CPL family.”

The CPL, first played in 2013, is a franchise-based domestic Twenty20 cricket tournament established by the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB). In the opening match of the 2016 edition on 29th June, St Lucia Zouks defeated the defending champions Trinbago Knight Riders by six wickets. 

The 2016 final will be played at the Providence Stadium, Guyana, on 26th July.