BT Sport regains Caribbean Premier League rights

Twenty20 cricket tournament returns to UK pay-TV channel after one-year absence.

BT Sport regains Caribbean Premier League rights

BT Sport has secured the UK broadcast rights for the 2017 Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL).

The British pay-TV broadcaster will televise all 34 matches from this year’s edition of the annual Twenty20 cricket tournament, which will feature teams from Jamaica, Barbados, Guyana, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, and Trinidad and Tobago. Additionally, the competition will be streamed live on and via the BT Sport app.

The network held UK rights to the CPL in 2014 and 2015, but the 2016 tournament was exclusively shown by free-to-air entertainment channel Dave.

The deal adds to BT Sport’s growing commitment to cricket. It comes ahead of this winter’s Ashes series between England and Australia, which is being shown live on BT Sport for the first time as part of a five-year partnership between BT Sport and Cricket Australia. 

Damien O’Donohoe, chief executive officer of the Hero CPL, said: “We are delighted to have BT Sport as our broadcast partner in the UK. Their commitment to the broadcasting of high-quality cricket is evident and it is great that cricket fans in the UK will be able to watch some amazing cricket played in the unique carnival atmosphere of the Caribbean.”

Simon Green, head of BT Sport, added: “We are looking forward to bringing fans coverage of the Hero Caribbean Premier League - with some of the most exciting action in this form of the game. The tournament complements a fantastic month on our channels and is another step toward our build up to this winter’s Ashes series in Australia.”

The 2017 Hero CPL gets underway on 4th August, and will conclude on 9th September.