ECB to use ticket ballot to control Ashes demand

Edgbaston announced as host of first 2019 Ashes Test.

ECB to use ticket ballot to control Ashes demand

Getty Images

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has announced plans to introduce a public ballot for the first time in order to combat high ticket demand for the upcoming 2019 Ashes Test series.

For the five-match bilateral competition between England and Australia each of the host venues of will run a public ballot, with pre-registration open now.

The first Test of the 2019 series will be hosted at Edgbaston, starting on 1st August. The second game will take place at Lord’s, followed by Headingley and Old Trafford, with The Oval fulfilling its traditional position as the host of the final chapter in the series.

Tom Harrison, chief executive officer of the ECB, said: “There is nothing more important to England cricket fans than an Ashes Series.

“With the added element of being England’s first Test series in the new World Test Championship, it’s a hugely exciting prospect and we anticipate unprecedented demand for tickets. We would love to see fans from all over the world getting to experience the unique atmosphere of an Ashes Test Match after the ICC Cricket World Cup.”

It has also been confirmed that England will take on Ireland in a four-day Test, also at Lord’s, from 24-27 July. Before Ireland’s landmark visit for their first ever Test match against England, Pakistan will play five one-day internationals (ODIs) against England in preparation for the ICC Cricket World Cup, which takes place later that summer.

In order to avoid clashing with a busy summer of international cricket, the final of the 50-over Royal London Cup competition and Vitality T20 Blast Finals Day will be moved from their traditional dates. The Royal London showpiece will take place on 25th May, while the Twenty20 competition will culminate later than usual on 21st September.

Australia are the current holders of the Ashes, having won 4-0 over the Christmas of 2017. England, however, have not lost a home series since 2001.