Tennis Australia appoints first female president

Tennis Australia appoints first female president

Jayne Hrdlicka has been appointed as the first female president and chair of Tennis Australia.

The longstanding chief executive of the Jetstar Group airline was elected to succeed the retiring Chris Freeman at the governing body’s annual general meeting in Melbourne on Tuesday.

Hrdlicka was added to Tennis Australia’s board in January 2016, and will serve in her new role until 2020. She said that her initial focus will be on collaboration and transparency, along with ensuring continued momentum in sport participation and performance.

“We have strong leadership across the sport and we need everyone working together to deliver great outcomes around Australia,” said Hrdlicka. “Tennis Australia has undergone an unprecedented period of growth this past decade.

“There is a great foundation upon which to build the future success of the sport. That involves the growth of the Australian Open, Australian Open Series, continually enabling our national teams to achieve their best, helping identify and nurture the next generation of talent, working closely with the nation’s coaches, growing the participation base throughout the nation and ensuring tennis is the sport of choice for our kids.

“We can only do that together as a unified tennis community, communicating regularly and following a well-constructed strategy.”

Ken Laffey has also been re-elected as a board member, with Peter Robertson and Janice van Reyk set to join the board for the first time.