ICC rubber-stamps changes and confirms Srinivasan as chairman

ICC rubber-stamps changes and confirms Srinivasan as chairman

The International Cricket Council has confirmed that Narayanaswami Srinivasan will be its new chairman.

The appointment came as changes to the constitution of world cricket's governing body were confirmed at its annual conference in Melbourne, following approval from its 52-member Full Council. Srinivasan is currently sitting out his duties as president of the Board for Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) at the insistence of India's Supreme Court for the duration of a probe into corruption during last year's Indian Premier League (IPL) season. However, he has been cleared to continue as the BCCI's representative at the ICC.

Wally Edwards, the chairman of Cricket Australia, will become the chair of the newly formed ICC executive committee, with England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) chairman set to continue as chair of the finance and commercial affairs committee (F&CA). Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) chairman Mustafa Kamal will serve for the next year as ICC president, although the role will be significantly altered from the one held by the outgoing Alan Isaac.

Srinivasan, who paid tribute to Isaac as "an inspirational president" in his statement, said: "It is an honour to be confirmed as the Chairman of the International Cricket Council,” said Mr Srinivasan, adding: “I will leave no stone unturned in trying to strengthen the pillars and foundations of our sport, both on and off the field. I want to ensure that cricket retains and grows its popularity, and that the ICC plays a leading role in this global growth."

Kamal added: "This is a memorable and historic day for Bangladesh cricket. On this day 14 years ago, Bangladesh became the 10th Test playing country. Today, a Bangladeshi becomes the 11th president of the International Cricket Council. Thank you for bestowing this honour on Bangladesh and me."